Men of Redemption

Restoring a Life of Purity – One Day at a Time

What’s On Your Mind?

Posted by Men of Redemption on September 28, 2015

your mind“I’m struggling with trying to do the right thing in my life. My thoughts and the things I do influence me to make bad choices and I end up doing the worst. But I don’t want to do the wrong thing, I want to change that. So who can help me with this?

Don’t feel that you are alone in this dilemma. Every man has struggled with this decision during a season in his life where bad choices or decisions ran rapid in his life. First of all, many of us are influenced by our own environments, the way we were raised and the culture in which we were brought up in. Our parent’s influence, the peer pressures we faced daily growing up through school, and the emotional and mental struggles many of us had during our adolescence years all contributed to our character development. But the Word of God teaches us about this very same thing. Look at what Romans 7:13-20  has to say about this.

“Has then what is good become death to me? Certainly not! But sin, that it might appear sin, was producing death in me through what is good, so that sin through the commandment might become exceedingly sinful. For we know that the law is spiritual, but I am carnal, sold under sin. For what I am doing, I do not understand. For what I will to do, that I do not practice; but what I hate, that I do. If, then, I do what I will not to do, I agree with the law that it is good. But now, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me. For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh) nothing good dwells; for to will is present with me, but how to perform what is good I do not find. For the good that I will to do, I do not do; but the evil I will not to do, that I practice. Now if I do what I will not to do, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me.

When we are struggling with our thought life, trying to do the right thing but can’t seem to actually do it, we must examine ourselves and find out if there is sin in our lives. If we have sin in our lives, meaning making it a daily practice of doing the wrong thing purposely, we need to reach out and talk to someone who is filled with the Holy Spirit of God, to help you identify that sin and work toward confessing it and seek God’s forgiveness. We’ll never be able to do the right thing if we’re still holding onto “sin” that prohibits us from moving forward. Our intentions and desires don’t match up with what’s in our hearts is the bottom line. Seek some spiritual guidance, and also consider mentorship, someone who will walk along side you in life and help guide you to a more transparent, purity filled life and relationship with Jesus Christ.

Thank you for your comment.

 
