Men of Redemption

Restoring a Life of Purity – One Day at a Time

A Writer’s Thoughts . . . .

Posted by Men of Redemption on October 13, 2015

Writer's thoughtsOn Accountability . . . .                                                            

One of my favorite words. I learned about accountability several years ago when I discovered I needed it in my life. I find that accountability is more than just letting people in your life and answering to them on a frequent basis. It’s more than telling people where you’re at and where you’re going. It’s more than making yourself vulnerable to others and including them in your personal and intimate life. It’s more than being transparent and honest about my daily business, whether I’m at work, at church, visiting family and friends, or even at home. I’ve discovered that accountability is all that I just mentioned and more. One of my favorite scriptures in God’s Word speaks on accountability to the tee.

“As iron sharpens iron, So a man sharpens the countenance of his friend.”  –  PROVERBS  27:17

Yes, accountability does put you in a position where people see you for who you really are, how you really think and feel, and how you handle life and everything that comes with it. WOW!! How many of you can attest to that kind of vulnerability? Not of lot of us, and that’s probably why so many of us lead double lives, some people seeing you one way and others seeing in another. Typical example is how people see you at home in the daily tasks of family living and then see you at church involved in ministry. Are you the same person with the same values at home as you show at church when ministering or sharing? Something to think about while you’re deciding about making yourself vulnerable and transparent because that’s what it’s going to take to be accountable. And to whom will you be accountable to? Here’s my list: my Pastor, my Spiritual Overseer, my Mentor, our support group leadership team, several spirit-filled men in my church. In all, approximately 20-25 men who I’m accountable to keep me honest, true, and encouragement in my decision-making and business associations. I need this in my life because without it, I’m prone to make mistakes and bad choices leaning to my own understanding which God teaches us about in His Word (Prov. 3:5). I don’t know if you have accountability in your life to help you become more than what you desire to be but it sure does make a difference in my life when I need someone else’s wisdom and knowledge when I can’t rely on myself. Just a writer’s thoughts, I’m just saying . . . .

 

 

One Response to “A Writer’s Thoughts . . . .”

  1. Love this Article. A wife who’s husband is going through recovery. It helps her heal knowing the husband has good accountability around him.

    Like

Thank you for your comment.

 
