Men of Redemption

Restoring a Life of Purity – One Day at a Time

A Writer’s Thoughts . . . .

Posted by Men of Redemption on October 27, 2015

Writer's thoughtsOn Judging Others . . . .                                                                                                               

Oftentimes I find myself observing interactions or encounters with others where they are criticized or looked upon as condemned beings. Their opinions and comments about those who don’t measure up to the “status quo” of life sounds degrading and down right disrespectful. I’ve learned over the course of my life that people in general either like you or they don’t; they love you or they hate you. The ones in between we don’t know or are unsure of so we call them lukewarm, fence-straddlers, and we distance ourselves from them. When we do something that offends others, make a mistake because we probable didn’t understand something or its instruction along the way, people are quick to judge us for not really understanding what has happened or the reason for what we’ve said or done. All we want are the results and they trust that we could get it done. We tend to forget that we are human beings with frailties that prove that very fact. But instead of asking what happened, we form comments that tear them down, demeans their efforts and the lack thereof. They give them the interpretation that they’re always right in their perspective of things or life and forget that they too were in our position at one point or another. How did they overcome their lack of understanding? Didn’t they have to go through this as well? Yes they did. And at the same time, aren’t we’re taught to hear people out before we judge others for something they did or may not have done? I wanted to know what God’s Word says about judging others and how He feels about this and this is what I discovered.

“Judge not, and you shall not be judged. Condemn not, and you shall not be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven.”  –  Luke  6:37

So I examined my own intentions and asked myself: Am I judging others thinking that I won’t be judged with the same intent? Am I condemning thinking that I am exempt from the same? I can’t escape the judgment that I pronounce on others if my life is not in alignment with I believe as well. I too, must not judge others based on what I see or what they do. I’m learning to take time to understand people, their hearts, and encourage their desire to do the right thing. We all will make mistakes daily, but I don’t want to point the finger at someone for their lack of, or a mistake based on their misinterpreting instruction for the furthering of my needs or requests. Lord God, help my lack of understanding of others and grant me the patience to help and encourage those who desire the same thing.

Just some thoughts from a concerned writer who desires to see the goodness of the Lord in everyone. Just saying . . . .

 

Thank you for your comment.

 
