Men of Redemption

Restoring a Life of Purity – One Day at a Time

A Writer’s Thoughts . . . .

Posted by Men of Redemption on November 16, 2015

Writer's thoughts

 

 

My Thoughts on . . . . The Words We Use.

Do we ever take a moment and think about the things we say to each other? I mean, sometimes we rattle off comments or statements without really thinking about what we’ve just said. Our intention is never to hurt anyone with what we say, but a lot of times we’re in such a hurry to get what’s on our minds and hearts out, and don’t think about the impact of how the words we speak affect those we aim them at. I know that was a mouthful, but really listen to what I’m trying to say. I don’t ever want to say something to you or anyone without thinking about what I’m going to say first. One thing I’ve learned is that our words have power, and the choice of those words combine together with a specific purpose can cause serious damage to those we speak them to. If we’re angry at someone, our words can strike a person so deeply that it will affect their spirit and soul, causing them to doubt their abilities, their understanding of life or their focus on connecting with others. No, I’m not a psychologist or a social worker, but I do understand how our words can bring life or death to those in whom they are intended for.

For lots of people, self-esteem may be a problem for them but we’ll never know that because they don’t wear their heart on their sleeves. Others could be walking around life hurt from being talked down too because they’ve been told they lack common sense, or being called names other than who they are. This is the world we live in. The insensitivity of life has long left the hearts of people because it’s a “Me first” type of society everywhere. We’ve stopped caring about others and their needs, saying “We have needs too, so I’m not worried about everybody else, just me!” How many times have we said that to ourselves and others over the years? Dozens of times I can remember myself being the very first one making those statements. But over the years of really looking at my insensitivity, I’ve learned the hard way that my words and their intentions can hurt, damage, even cause severe emotional and mental pain for others. And I realized my error in this, and I learned what the Word of God says in the Bible regarding our words:

“Likewise, the tongue is a small part of the body, but it makes great boasts. Consider what a great forest is set on fire by a small spark. The tongue also is a fire, a world of evil among the parts of the body. It corrupts the whole body, sets the whole course of one’s life on fire, and is itself set on fire by hell.”  –  JAMES   3:5, 6

We can do more damage with our words than we can with anything else in life. That’s why I believe that if we pay careful attention to what we say to one another, we can avoid relationship breakdown, misunderstanding of others’ intent, as well as what others meant to say instead of what we thought we said. I, too, have learned from this principle, and this has challenged me to really take a look at myself and how I communicate with others. We don’t have to “over-guard” ourselves and watch every word verbatim, just be mindful of our intent and purpose in our conversation with all people. This way, we all can receive what each other is saying without distraction, without saying “HUH!”. We will say what we mean, not what we thought we said.

Just some thoughts of a writer whose concern is about the spiritual awareness of moving forward in the things of God with purpose, Just saying . . . .

 

 

Thank you for your comment.

 
