Men of Redemption

Restoring a Life of Purity – One Day at a Time

A Writer’s Thoughts On . . . .

Posted by Men of Redemption on December 29, 2015

Writer's thoughts

 

 

My Thoughts on . . . . SERVING OTHERS.

One of the things I try to understand daily is how can I serve others. I want to help people in a way that will bring joy, bring some type of happiness and peace to their lives, their situations if they allow me to. In order for me to do that I need to know what it looks like, what it feels like, and can I be genuine in my efforts not looking for anything in return. I think that’s the hardest thing I find people really don’t understand about serving others. What’s in it for me? What do I get in return if I do this thing for you? That is the wrong attitude to take or to have when it comes to serving others. I can’t help be see on a daily basis how people purposely expect something in return for a deed done for them or to them. Could it be selfishness? Could it be they have an agenda that they are trying to carry out by gaining the affirmation and acceptance of those they serve? I think the is yes to both of those questions because of the type of world we live in. It’s all about self, me, and what I can get out of it. But why can’t we just let serving others be a part of our lives, not a way to conjure or manipulate others for our own desires? It’s a matter of the heart. I discovered some time ago that if serving others isn’t coming from the heart it’s coming from the mind, and that is where our biggest battle is, between the ears!

The only real true life example I know of someone who serves others without looking for anything in return is when Jesus washed the feet of His disciples. To me, that was truly the epitome of true servanthood(John 13). Christ never asked for anything, had an agenda or waited for His disciples to offer anything in return. It was in Christ’s heart to serve them and that’s what we need to receive in order to be that kind of servant. Our hearts need to be transformed to a heart for people, to truly care and have a love for people. But the world that we live in makes it so hard for so many of us because we don’t know who to trust. But we as children of the Most High God, Jesus Christ, shouldn’t have to worry about trust or the world itself, we just need to place that trust in Him, and in Him alone, and He will give us that heart for people by His Holy Spirit. So what do we have to fear? Nothing! Because our hope and trust is not in man but in Christ alone, the solid rock of our foundation.

“Now before the Feast of the Passover, when Jesus knew that His hour had come that He should depart from this world to the Father,having loved His own who were in the world, He loved them to the end.And supper being ended, the devil having already put it into the heart of Judas Iscariot, Simon’s son, to betray Him, Jesus, knowing that the Father had given all things into His hands, and that He had come from God and was going to God, rose from supper and laid aside His garments, took a towel and girded Himself. After that, He poured water into a basin and began to wash the disciples’ feet, and to wipe them with the towel with which He was girded. Then He came to Simon Peter. And Peter said to Him, “Lord, are You washing my feet? “Jesus answered and said to him, “What I am doing you do not understand now, but you will know after this.”  –  JOHN  13:1-7

Just some thoughts from a writer who prays and desires to see the goodness and blessing of the Lord God in each and every man and woman of God as they experience His grace and mercy in their lives. Just saying . . . .

Thank you for your comment.

 
