Men of Redemption

Restoring a Life of Purity – One Day at a Time

A Writer’s Thoughts On . . . .

Posted by Men of Redemption on January 15, 2016

Writer's thoughts

 

 

My Thoughts On . . . . IDOLS.

We all have them. If we say that we don’t, we’re only fooling ourselves and our own minds. First. I looked up what the word “Idol” means because I believe we all need to know its meaning and places in our lives.

IDOLa noun; an image or other material object representing a deity to which religious worship is addressed; an image of a deity other than God; the deity itself; any person or thing regarded with blind admiration, adoration, or devotion; a false conception or notion; fallacy.

Now that we have some clarity as to what an idol may and can be, I want to share some thoughts on their identity in our daily lives. The reality of this is that many of us don’t see them as idols but they’re in our lives everywhere and everyday. Anything that takes the place of its original purpose can be an idol. Whether we look at this from an intellectual or spiritual perspective, the same results are present.

   

Oftentimes we find ourselves spending more time doing a certain thing consistently without thinking, it becomes a “habit” and we just go to it. Or what about when we tell ourselves we can’t function without something, i.e. cell phone, our computer, iPad, etc.. We will put those electronic devices before breakfast, before friendships, and to some degree even before God. How many times have we spent hours on our cell phones or computers and when it comes to reading the Word of God for guidance and instruction on life we spend maybe 15-20 minutes tops! And I’m talking about the children of God who should be reading His Word daily, spending quality time knowing who our Savior is, and what His purpose is for our lives. This includes me too, because I am a born again believer and follower of Christ so I’m talking to myself first. We will put our daily activities in place of relationship building with our families. Some of us men will rush home to catch the latest sports news on ESPN before we so hello and greet our wives and children. Our focus isn’t always on what’s important to us but getting to what our passions are is the goal. Everyday! But some of us don’t look at it in that way. For some reason, those important things will always be there, so we think, and therefore become neglected and even forgotten in many cases. We run to these “idols” because that’s where our hearts are, in the pleasures of this life. Now, these idols can also be in the forms of substance abuse, alcohol, sports, sex, occupations, hobbies, you get the picture. There is nothing wrong with enjoying these activities, of course with the exception of the substance abuse, sex, and alcohol, but we have to understand that when we put those desires before those that mean so much more to us: people, family, God and relationships, it’s no wonder why we see things not going well for us because we don’t think there is anything wrong with it. To me, idols come in all colors, shapes and sizes. But understanding that making certain things a preference before the meaningful essentials in life; family, relationships and God, will only lead us down the avenues of selfishness, which will lead to isolation, and eventually loneliness and depression. That’s not what we were created to do or be. I check myself daily: Am I focused on what’s important to me or am I spending my time making sure I have this or that to get ahead in life? I don’t know everything about everything but this I know; that I am content with what I have, making the very best to keep my family happy, my relationships growing, and my relationship with God maturing daily seeking Him with all my heart.

“Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal; but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”  –  MATTHEW   6:19-21

Just some thoughts from a Christ follower whose prayer is for all to come unto the saving knowledge of our Lord and Father, Jesus Christ. Just saying . . . .

 

Thank you for your comment.

 
