Men of Redemption

Restoring a Life of Purity – One Day at a Time

A Writer’s Thoughts On . . . .

Posted by Men of Redemption on February 15, 2016

Writer's thoughts

 

 

Some thoughts on . . . . Forgiveness.

This is one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to learn over the years. But why is unforgiveness so difficult when the act of forgiveness is so rewarding? Forgiveness, I’ve learned, takes the power of hate and disharmony away from our situations. When I don’t forgive, I give the enemy permission to take control of my feelings, emotions, and build up walls of negativity and disharmony between myself and the one whom I choose to not to forgive. I begin to develop a dislike, a hatred feeling towards that person, and that’s exactly what I do not want to do, to let unforgiveness reign in my life. When I look at not forgiving  someone I ask myself – how can I not forgive when Jesus Christ forgave me for all that I have done to Him? I mean, my sin, my unfaithfulness, my lack of faith, my lack of not loving my wife and family whole-heartedly, my not trusting Him in my decisions, and most importantly, not being obedient to Him and His Word! If God can, and has forgiven me for those things and more, why is it hard for me to forgive others for the things they have done to me? It’s a choice. I have the choice to forgive and if I choose not to forgive I’m only hurting myself and not the other person.

I don’t like carrying grudges or holding things against others because it only harbors ill feelings, and when those ill feeling reaches it’s boiling point the results can be collateral damage towards that individual. I don’t want that in my life. When I have disagreement with someone I’m suppose to go to that person, confess my disagreement or problem with that person and ask for their forgiveness before it escalates into something that may gain momentum and get out of control. But it takes a person bigger than myself to come to that point in life. It takes the love of God to forgive others. Naturally, it’s not in us to forgive, and that’s why we have Jesus Christ, who displayed that kind of love by dying on the Cross for our sins, forgiving us despite what we have done in the past, in the present and in the future. That’s how much He loves us. Despite what we may have done back when, today and what we may do tomorrow, His death and resurrection covered all of our sins and transgressions. That’s forgiveness. So why should I hold onto unforgiveness and cause a wedge between another person and myself, probably never resolving the issue? That’s foolish and defeats the purpose of why Jesus died for us. I’m working on releasing unforgiveness in my life and pressing towards forgiving others no matter what they may have done or said to me or about me. If Christ has forgiven me for what I’ve done, certainly I can forgive others what they have done to me.

Just some thoughts from a brother who loves and follows the Lord Jesus Christ with all of his heart, praying that the love of God ensnare the hearts of those find it hard to forgive others. Let the love of God reign in all areas of your life, for peace to dominate in all of our situations. Just saying . . . .

“And whenever you stand praying, if you have anything against anyone, forgive him, that your Father in heaven may also forgive you your trespasses. But if you do not forgive, neither will your Father in heaven forgive your trespasses.”  –   MARK   11:25, 26

 

Thank you for your comment.

 
