Men of Redemption

Restoring a Life of Purity – One Day at a Time

A Writer’s Thoughts On . . . .

Posted by Men of Redemption on March 9, 2016

Writer's thoughts

 

 

Some Thoughts on . . . . Wives Supporting Their Husbands Recovery.

Okay guys, I know you were waiting for this so here it is . . . Wives, we need your total support as we embark on this thing called recovery. Yes, this is something new to us, and it’s taking us out of our comfort zone doing things that we’re not used to be doing. It’s for the right thing but in many ways it’s scary to say the least. I remember when I began my recovery several years ago, I didn’t know what to expect or how to begin. All I knew was I had to change some things that I was doing; had to have a reset of the way I was thinking and the things that I allowed to enter my mind; and had to include other men in my life who were purposed to travel this journey with me. But most importantly, I need you in my recovery. I didn’t know what your purpose or contribution might be, but I knew I needed you to become involved. I didn’t know what that looked like, and I didn’t have anyone I could look to for an example. But I finally discovered what it looked like and this is what I need from you.

YOUR PRAYERS

I need you to pray for me daily. The things I’m being required to do is difficult, and it’s taking me through some changes that my flesh and my spirit-man are at war about. This is a constant and daily battle for me and I really need you to seek the Father and stand in agreement with me as I do this. Some days it’s hard, other days it seems I can really do this. But I can’t assume that you are praying, I need to know.

YOUR ENCOURAGEMENT

I am beginning to realize how much pain I’ve caused you because of my behaviors, my attitude and negative thoughts about our marriage relationship. I’m taking ownership, as well as responsibility for those actions, and I need your encouragement to help me become a better man, a better husband and spiritual leader of our home by telling me I’m going to be okay; I’m doing the right thing; you’re right here in my corner; encourage me with uplifting comments that will persuade me to keep moving forward.

YOUR UNDERSTANDING

I realize that the only way you’ll understand how to help me in my recovery is that I invite you into every area of my life and be transparent about the process I’m taking. The more open and honest I become with you about my recovery efforts, the more understanding you’ll become in supporting me. I get discouraged sometimes when you won’t try to understand, but please remember this is new for me as well. I’m willing to go beyond myself and extend myself to get you involved in understanding my efforts.

These are some thoughts for the guys who have are struggling in their recoveries, or who haven’t built up the courage to share their hearts with their wives. They have a voice, and they want to say this exact thing, but the shame and guilt have overwhelmed them through passivity and isolation that they can’t speak their hearts out. I’m being that voice for them, and praying that they become empowered to make a stand for righteousness, and begin to know who they are in Christ, then they will declare, proclaim on the mountaintops that they are a Man of God, a child of the King of kings and Lord of lords. You can do it, and I’m praying daily that you will, Just saying . . . .

“Husbands, likewise, dwell with them with understanding, giving honor to the wife, as to the weaker vessel, and as being heirs together of the grace of life, that your prayers may not be hindered.”   –  1  Peter  3:7

 

One Response to “A Writer’s Thoughts On . . . .”

  1. Freddy G. Martinez said

    Amen ! This is a New Journey and I need and want the support.

    Like

Thank you for your comment.

 
