Men of Redemption

Restoring a Life of Purity – One Day at a Time

A Writer’s Thoughts On . . . .

Posted by Men of Redemption on April 4, 2016

Writer's thoughts

 

 

My Thoughts on . . . . . Real Relationship, Pt. 1.

We all know people from everywhere. We meet people in the craziest places under the strangest circumstances. And some of us tend to build on those encounters because we sense a relationship, whether it’s for friendship, communication or something specific that we can grow from. We see something in them that attracts us to their personality, their purpose in life, or the encouragement that they bring through their lives. We begin to make ourselves vulnerable to this process, but still we keep our boundaries up and in place just in the event the process has a breakdown. This is what we call a relationship. We are so careful in developing relationship that it’s almost like conducting an interview to make sure that the person or persons is genuine and real. But it’s so hard to distinguish real relationship because there will be no trust given until transparency and honesty is at the forefront. So how long does it take for real relationship to develop. It’s really a matter of what you want out of the relationship and what you want to give to make the relationship grow.

I believe when we begin to develop real relationship there are understandings that must take place in order for it to flourish with genuineness. I first, must have a desire to get to know that person and see something in him that I’m attracted to that will build me up and help me become a person myself. It’s not always about having friends or knowing a lot of people because everyone is a friend, they’re just not at a degree where everyone is on the same  level as far as relationship goes. I have to want to spend time with that person, get to know his character, his likes and dislikes, his wants and his desires in life, really getting to know that person on a deeper level. I know it does take time, but if I’m ever going to want real relationship I must make it a point, a purpose, to seek after those relationship with honesty and transparency. Spending time with that individual will give me the clarity and understanding of developing real relationship because that’s what I want in my life, a person or people who are real, not someone who is perpetrating or has a hidden agenda and wants to take advantage of my kindness. I also have to remember that not everyone wants to same things in real relationship either. If they don’t get what they want out of you they will leave you alone, or some will even try to manipulate us and pretend to be genuine to get on your approval of relationship. I look at my relationship with God. Even though I don’t see Him, I want to get to know Him, His desires for me in this life; His purpose for me while I’m on this earth; who He truly is, and why His love for me is so great and unconditional. I know I need to spend time with Him, in His Word, in prayer, and most of all, listening to Him through the Holy Spirit for understanding Him in all things. He has revealed Himself through His Word, so I want to take time out daily to understand The One who created me. That’s developing real relationship. And if use the same principles  and guidelines in allowing real relationship to develop with people as I do with my relationship with God, I’ll be surrounding myself with godly wisdom, godly understanding, and genuine perspective. All of my relationships will be edifying and with purpose.

Just some thoughts from a brother who has learned about relationship development, what it takes to make real, genuine relationships work and the privilege of knowing true transparency and honesty in relationship. Just saying . . . .

“But whatever were gains to me I now consider loss for the sake of Christ. What is more, I consider everything a loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them garbage, that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ—the righteousness that comes from God on the basis of faith. I want to know Christ—yes, to know the power of his resurrection and participation in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, and so, somehow, attaining to the resurrection from the dead.” 

–  PHILIPPIANS   3:7-11  

 

Thank you for your comment.

 
