Men of Redemption

Restoring a Life of Purity – One Day at a Time

Read Your Word This Morning?

Posted by Men of Redemption on September 30, 2016

Breakfast of ChampionsI have to ask myself this question: Am I getting what I’m seeking when I read the Word of God? I know oftentimes I make mention of how much I read, how often I read and why I read. But the most relevant question is am I getting it and what am I doing with that knowledge? Well, I’m very happy to say that I am truly getting more than I ever thought I’d get. The Word of God becomes more real to me the more I read it. It’s the life of becoming Christ-like, imitating Christ in every aspect of my character. I want to learn how to relate to people, how I can serve others, and meet the needs of those who are less fortunate than many. As I continue to read about how Christ our Savior continued to show the world what love is because He is love, I see and desire that compassion He has for people everywhere no matter the ethnicity, cultural background or gender. His Word teaches me daily as I read that His love reaches everyone and that’s what He desires in us as His people. The greatest commandment of all is to love God with all of hearts, minds and souls, then to love our neighbor as we love ourselves. Who then is our neighbor? Everyone that is outside of ourselves whether they live down the street, in another state or another country. That’s what I’m seeking after, the same love and compassion Christ showed me so that I may in return give that love to those who are seeking the same. I’m satisfied with what I’m getting from God’s Word-wisdom, understanding, guidance, instruction, peace and the love of God. The more I go after that, the more He fills my cup as it overflows with His goodness and graces.

“Teacher, which is the great commandment in the law?” Jesus said to him, “‘You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.’ This is the first and great commandment. And the second is like it: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.” 

–   MATTHEW  22:36-39

Thank you for your comment.

 
