Men of Redemption

Restoring a Life of Purity – One Day at a Time

Read Your Word This Morning?

Posted by Men of Redemption on October 11, 2016

Breakfast of ChampionsReading God’s Word is important to me for many reasons. But there is one thing that try to do when reading His Word and that is to Keep Balance in what I’m reading. Here’s what I mean. I don’t try to read those portions of scripture that speak to the finer things in life. It’s so easy to get caught up in reading about how good God is to everyone, how He helps His children out of the most difficult situations we can face, then puts us back on the right road. But there are those portions of His Word that convicts us of our wrong doing, our bad choices, and He reveals through His Word that there are consequences we must face because of them. That’s the part of life we try to hide, sometimes even try to ignore. Keeping this balance helps me get true meaning and clarity when I’m reading His Word. I know the Word of God isn’t all about prosperity and great adventure through life. I do understand that life has its challenges, and based on how we deal with them, those choices and decisions bring on the consequences we will inherit. So I expect to read about disobedience, rebellion, harden hearts and people running from God because of fear and tremble. It lets me know that the God I read about is a loving and caring God who understands me, us, as human being and realizes that we do make mistakes. But He expects us to learn from those mistakes and grow from them as we lean unto Him in all things. His Word is true always, and I’m thankful that He makes it clear for His children to understand through His Holy Spirit.

Thank you for your comment.

 
