Men of Redemption

Restoring a Life of Purity – One Day at a Time

Read Your Word This Morning?

Posted by Men of Redemption on October 13, 2016

Breakfast of ChampionsHow do you handle it when you’re reading God’s Word about some intentional behaviors with a character you’re reading about and you’re acting that same way? Wow! I know I’m probably stepping on some toes right now but sometimes that’s what happens when we read certain stories in God’s Word. We might be going through a serious season in our lives and our attitudes and demeanor may have taken on a different personality, sin, being angry or upset  wanting to make that situation right by any means to exact revenge. We read about that a lot in God’s Word but what we fail to understand is we need to keep reading all the way through till the story has finality to it. We react to the stories we read but we stop when we see a type of “conclusion” from our perspective, but God has a different and more resolving end to that story. Sometimes we may have to keep reading into additional chapters, maybe even into the next book to see what God does and how He brings the solution. It’s like I’m reading exactly what I’m doing in life right now! I know for me, when it happened I felt so convicted and wrong. My heart was heavy, and I felt ashamed, especially when I called myself a child of God. That’s hypocritical and sinful! So I repented, confessed my sin and everything I was doing at that time. God began to take away the shame, the guilt, and show me the error of my ways. But I would never have faced my intentions unless I was confronted with it in God’s Word. This doesn’t happen often, but when it does, that’s the way I handle it because that’s the what I believe God would want me to do. His Word is powerful, life-giving, and convicting, all at the same time. I’ll never stop reading His Word because it keeps me straight, keeps me right, and keeps me accountable. That you Lord Jesus for Your Word!

Thank you for your comment.

 
