Men of Redemption

Restoring a Life of Purity – One Day at a Time

A Writer’s Thoughts On . . . .

Posted by Men of Redemption on November 24, 2016

Writer's thoughts

 

 

 . . . . Being Thankful    

Wow. Where do I begin. Well, I guess I’ll begin by saying that I’m thankful that I’m alive, being able to write these thoughts I’m sharing with you. I realize I could be not in my right mind, thinking things I shouldn’t be thinking, but I’m not. I could be occupied with something that has my attention on selfish desires, but I’m not. Or I could be doing something that brings me pleasure in all the ways I would like, again, but I’m not. But I’m thankful that my mind and heart has been and always will be stayed on Christ Jesus, my Lord and Savior. I’m thankful because I’m not living that life that I lived for so long that was centered on selfishness, aligned with my desires and thoughts to advance my own agendas. A lot people were hurt because of my erratic and out of control behavior. But I’m thankful for God exposing me, making me face the pain I’ve caused to others and humbly apologizing to every one of them. Now I’m making amends to them by living a life that has been transformed by the mercy and grace of Jesus Christ. I’m thankful for that opportunity for redemption and wholeness through His saving power. It wasn’t the end of that season in my life but the beginning of a new one. I’m thankful!

The fruits of my labor bring me joy, peace beyond anything I could ever imagine. The renewing of my mind, and the transformation of my life has and is bringing eternal blessings to every situation and relationship I’m involved in. The men in my life, whose accountability with myself has truly brought transparency and honesty to every area of my being. I’m thankful!

I have a wife and family that believes in me, and still believes that I will continue to allow God to develop me into the Man of God He created me to be. They continue to pray for me, encourage me, support me in all that I’m doing to help spread the Gospel of Jesus Christ despite what I have done to them. I’m thankful!

My friends and family members, after much disappointment and shame that I have caused them over the years, most of them now support me as they have witness God’s transformation in my heart and life. Our communication is better, more real and genuine. They see me for who I really am, not whom I wanted them to think I was. God has brought restoration and newness to our relationship. I’m thankful!

But I could never be thankful enough for the men I surround myself with every Monday night – Men of Redemption! These guys have contributed a huge part to my life in all facets. They have been through the hurts, the pains, the disappointments as well as the daily victories and successes in my life. I am accountable to every last one of them. The honesty and transparency they hold me to is unmatched by any other. They are there for me 24/7 with God’s grace and mercy as well as His love. Sharing, caring, knowing about each other on all levels-personal, emotional and spiritual, as well as professional, has developed a true honest relationship that will never be broken. I love every one of these guys. I’ve never had such a great group of guys in my life that really cared and supported me the way they have. Guys, I am so grateful and thankful to God for every one of you!

Just some thoughts from a man of God who knows who he is and whose he is. God has done some wonder-working, supernatural stuff in this short life He has allowed me to have. And until He calls me home, every breath that He allows me to breathe, every step He strengthens to take, and every opportunity He places in front of me, I will share and spread the Gospel of Jesus Christ. Just saying . . . . I’m thankful!!

“And Jesus came and spoke to them, saying, “All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth. Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Amen.” 

–  Matthew  28:18-20

 

Thank you for your comment.

 
