Men of Redemption

Restoring a Life of Purity – One Day at a Time

Recovery Tip For This Week!

Posted by Men of Redemption on November 28, 2016

Road_RecoveryThis week’s tip . . .

 

 

Be Humble in All Your Victories in Recovery

Well, you’ve been in recovery for a while now and things are moving forward just you prayed to God for. You have consistent sobriety; you’re spending daily, quality time with the Lord in prayer and reading His Word; your accountability structure is in place and active with full support; you’re learning and growing in the things of God as you have been applying His principles and guidelines to your life. All is well with your recovery structure. Now the hardest thing to do as you continue to move forward-KEEPING IT THAT WAY!

So many times we can get so excited about our efforts in all we do in recovery, and rightfully so, because it’s hard and you want to feel good about it. But the one thing that I discovered early on in my recovery is that the enemy of our souls is not going to sit back and watch us have victory over his efforts to bring us down that easily. That’s why I’ve grown to humble myself in my recovery by being thankful and honoring God for all that He has strengthened me to go through and to accomplish. Remember, everything we have done in recovery is not by our own doing. There had to be a humbling experience, exposure to some of us, and that wasn’t a very pretty thing for many of us. It was down-right embarrassing!

But God has a way of humbling us before Him, getting our attention because He loves us that much. In doing so, I’ve learned, and still learn to this day, to keep things in perspective by giving God honor and praise for bringing to this point in my life because I realized where I’d be if I had continued in my mess. So I thank God daily. I pray for His goodness and mercy to surround me always as He gives me life to move forward. It wasn’t anything that I did or done, it was His grace that He showered me with to see Him as my Savior and Lord to bring me out of what I was going through. So every day that God gives me life, I’m thankful and blessed to receive healing and grace to continue in my recovery and be consistent in all my efforts. I’m grateful, I’m thankful, and I give Him the glory for everything He has done, is doing and will continue to do as I faithfully continue to submit myself to His authority and guidance.

 

Thank you for your comment.

 
