Men of Redemption

Restoring a Life of Purity – One Day at a Time

Read Your Word This Morning? – DON’T LEAVE HOME WITHOUT IT!!

Posted by Men of Redemption on March 1, 2017

read-your-wordWE ARE COMMISSIONED BY JESUS HIMSELF TO MAKE DISCIPLES OF ALL NATIONS!

I was reading in Matthew 28 where the Lord Jesus was speaking to His disciples at a place He had designated for them to be. He met them there and they worshiped Him. But as the Word says, some of the Disciples doubted Him still. I was thinking . . . . Has God ever told me to go somewhere, wait there until you hear from me, and then I will tell you what it is that I want you to do? Probably so, and with all that I’ve been through in this brief time I’ve had on earth, I know I didn’t pay attention or acknowledge Him at all. When I read passages of scripture like this one it makes me think long and hard about when did God say to me to go, to wait, and to listen for His instructions. I look back on my life and I can definitely pick out those moments where those very words were spoken to me just as clear as I’m hearing them now. It’s just a point of whether I will take the time to acknowledge, adhere, and receive God’s divine instruction and wisdom in obedience. In this case, Jesus was telling His Disciples to go into their world, share the Gospel and be an example of His life and love that He showed them while He was here on earth. And Jesus is telling us those very same words today! Some of us are doing in many ways: through missionary work abroad, witnessing and sharing our testimony with others, and many of us are using social media to spread the Gospel all over the world. So as children of God, are you doing your part to disciple the nations around you? Nations to many of us would be considered our present environment-our neighborhoods, our places of employment, or any outside venue where there are people, especially those who don’t know or have a relationship with the Father. Do those people in our areas of influence see Jesus in our life? Are they seeing God’s love and passion for Holiness and mercy in what we do and/or say? If not, as children of the Most High God, how can we disciple if that same love is not represented in our lives for them to see? Some of us may have doubt just like the disciples that followed Jesus, seeing all of His miracles of healing and bringing people together for one common goal and still they doubted Him. It’s sad to say but that’s the way some of us as Christians live our lives. We don’t verbally say we doubt Him but our lives speak that doubt in what we do. So what do we need to do? Get into His Word and read about how to experience His love, grace and mercy, and then you too, will be able to disciple the nations around you as begin to fulfill His commission for all of us make disciples of all nations!

“Then the eleven disciples went away into Galilee, to the mountain which Jesus had appointed for them. When they saw Him, they worshiped Him; but some doubted. And Jesus came and spoke to them, saying, “All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth. Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Amen

–  Matthew 28:16-20

 

Thank you for your comment.

 
