WHAT GOD’S WORD SAYS ABOUT IT – WORDS OF WISDOM

WHAT GOD’S WORD SAYS ABOUT . . . .

LOVE YOUR ENEMIES

“But I say to you who hear: Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, and pray for those who spitefully use you. To him who strikes you on the one cheek, offer the other also. And from him who takes away your cloak, do not withhold your tunic either. Give to everyone who asks of you. And from him who takes away your goods do not ask them back. And just as you want men to do to you, you also do to them likewise. “But if you love those who love you, what credit is that to you? For even sinners love those who love them. And if you do good to those who do good to you, what credit is that to you? For even sinners do the same. And if you lend to those from whom you hope to receive back, what credit is that to you? For even sinners lend to sinners to receive as much back. But love your enemies, do good, and lend, hoping for nothing in return; and your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High. For He is kind to the unthankful and evil. Therefore be merciful, just as your Father also is merciful.” 

LUKE 6:27-36 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL READING

TODAY’S PASSAGE: JAMES 1:21-25 . . . .

HEARING THE WORD AND DOING THE WORD

“Therefore lay aside all filthiness and overflow of wickedness, and receive with meekness the implanted word, which is able to save your souls. But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves. For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man observing his natural face in a mirror; for he observes himself, goes away, and immediately forgets what kind of man he was. But he who looks into the perfect law of liberty and continues in it, and is not a forgetful hearer but a doer of the work, this one will be blessed in what he does.” 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

RECOVERY CHALLENGE: Today, I want to truly re-energize my perspective on how I’m hearing, receiving, and implementing God’s Word into my daily activities. To begin with, I have my recovery structure in place: I read God’s Word every morning. I pray over my family and all that God has blessed me with (my spouse, my daughters, my job, my home, etc.). Then I pray over my day, asking God to protect me and my family from the wiles and devices of the enemy of our souls, the devil and his crew. I also pray over my work day, my co-workers and managers, as well as the customers who frequent our business for the merchandise we sell. Then I declare to God that He will get all the glory out of everything that will happen this day, in His Name. Now, all of that is being done before I leave my house and face the world. My challenge for today is to not only read and hear His Word but do it, and with a genuine and sincere heart. I want to take His Word as I read it or hear it, and apply it to my own life and experience the joy, love, and power of His grace and mercy in and over my life. If God says I should do this or do that I want to be obedient and carry that out as a good steward of His word ought to do. I desire the goodness and wholeness of doing right in His sight, pleasing him in my obedience to His Word as He leads me, guides me, and keeps me from all hurt, harm, and danger. His Word tells me He will never leave me nor forsake me and with that promise how can I not be obedient and live out His Word as He asks me to! He’s faithful and just, and He says the just shall live by faith. So my goal, my challenge for today is to do the Word of God as I receive it, ask the Holy Spirit to give me understanding and wisdom to carry it out in word, thought and deed. I will make this my daily purpose and I know He will be pleased.