TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL READING

TODAY’S PASSAGE: PHILIPPIANS 1:12-16 . . . .

BEING A LIGHT IN A WORLD OF DARKNESS

“Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who works in you both to will and to do for His good pleasure. Do all things without complaining and disputing, that you may become blameless and harmless, children of God without fault in the midst of a crooked and perverse generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world, holding fast the word of life, so that I may rejoice in the day of Christ that I have not run in vain or labored in vain.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

RECOVERY CHALLENGE: Even while I’m in recovery I can be a light to someone who is struggling just I was. As I continue to move forward in all of my efforts, little do I know that I’m being an example to and for someone who wants and desires to know what persverance in recovery looks like. My challenge is for me to keep going, to push through the difficult trials and allow God’s presence and His grace to lead me unto all truth and understanding. No matter what I face-the temptations that are specifically created to draw me back into my mess, the allure of lusts and its illicit company of unholy relationships, all of that, I must be empowered by the Holy Spirit to overcome and not bow down to its pleasures or evil desires. And while all this is a daily challenge for me I cannot forget that there are those who are watching me, watching my recovery and all that I do to see how I handel myself and what I do when confronted by these attacks. I must trust in the Lord God for protection and guidance if I want to remain honest and truthful not only to myself but to God. So I’m making a stand for righteousness and holiness, and with the leading and guiding by the Holy Spirit I will overcome.

One thought on “TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL READING”

  1. Thx Ernie. I look back on all my choices and it’s like I don’t want to be in the light like you’re talking about but know that God deserves all of my life and I desire not to settle for less than His perfect will yet that’s what ends up happening. I want to change. I want to be committed and faithful to God. Pray for me man. I drift in and out.

    Like

Thank you for your comment.